top of page
  • gnbooks

Prose: Sunlight in the Dust of my Window by Niha Hasan

"Because each new morning has a ray of opportunity to start a new day."


Sunlight in the Dust of my Window

By Niha Hasan


I wanted a morning that would keep the troublemakers asleep, and would make me wake up. I wanted a morning when fatigue would not overwhelm me. There would be no work pressure. There would be no hard desire to escape from the day. There would be no desperate prayer not to wake up.


I still want that morning by a mile. I will definitely wake up in that morning sooner or later. Yeah, I will wake up with the oh-so cream sentiment that would be the equivalent to the sky. After a while, I will smile and say, 'Good morning world'.


Honestly, I wish that morning would come sooner. I'm still looking forward to waking up that morning. Because I know that morning will make me irresistible, itching to open my best-loved book. I will open the dearest page of it and will hold the book in the soft light coming through the drop curtain. I will keep reading the page a little while, leaving my hair undone. Believe it or not, I will get a hold of a dried rose which I found in an unnamed letter long ago. Even now, after all these years, I still want to keep that dried rose within my best-loved book, along with all the recollections of bygone times.


Even though I will sit quietly, I will visually perceive the morning light. In that light my blessed eyes will see how the dust is levitating. In fact, I’ll keep watching how fast it is running out rather than levitating. Because each new morning has a ray of opportunity to start a new day.


I would appreciate encountering the beautiful soft light of that morning which would give me hope, and the feeling of chasing away all the dust of miserable mornings instead.


Yeah, I cry out for that kinda morning, which still holds true today. I want to have that morning, and paint the town red for auld lang syne.


bottom of page