top of page
  • gnbooks

Poem: Fragments by Niha Hasan

With a sad, yet powerful, recognition of struggles that individuals with mental health issues face, Niha Hasan discovers the isolation and thoughts of a person dealing with dark themes in her short poem, "Fragments." #mentalhealthawareness #poetry #darkpoetry


Fragments

By Niha Hasan


I gave up!

I gave up and commenced cutting.

Yeah, I commenced. I commenced cutting

my hands to feel something different

Cause those days were the worst nightmare

to live for a second.

Cause those nights were the scariest dread

that brought my life to a dead end.


I switched off my phone,

locked the door and isolated

my dead self in the room.

I blew all my pain up the air

through nicotine.

I swallowed all my frustration

at an unnamed canteen.

bottom of page