top of page
  • gnbooks

Poem by Creative Writing Contest Winner Anoushka Dalvi

Prompt: "What is a special memory that has deepened your love and appreciation for reading?"

"I keep searching for tales that send me to wondrous worlds..."

Congratulations to Anoushka Dalvi for winning the 2020 Syosset Leaders for Literacy and GN Books collaborative creating writing contest! #creativeWriting #contestWinner #gnbooks


Her vivid imagination, imagery, and use of rhyme throughout her poem highlights her strengths as a writer, truly showing how reading influenced her life as a young girl. #booklovers #poetry


See below for the full poem!


Reading Poem

By Anoushka Dalvi


In the basement of 

the library,

there grows my

curiosity,

and words tumble out 

of five-year old me

as I spell 

B-I-R-D


In the pages of

my book, 

birds rule the skies

and look-

there is my attention

caught on a hook

just a few words were 

all it took


She opens her pages,

reads aloud

voice soft yet clear

even in this crowd

I can see the theater

alive and proud

ballerinas soaring-

my imagination, without a doubt.


Though those stories have

reached their end,

I keep searching for

tales that send

me to wondrous worlds 

so I won’t have to pretend

that never once has reading

never been my friend.

bottom of page