top of page
  • gnbooks

Best Summer Reads

Everybody loves a summer read to take by the beach or pool, so here are some of our favorites!


1.I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

To me, I'll Give You the Sun was a book as unique and elusive as the cover page.


When you hear the title, even, Jandy Nelson's book reminds me of bright green grass, and roaming freely into the unknown - a place where you can sit back, relax, and simply enjoy the growth that happens throughout the story.

"I gave up practically the whole world for you, the sun, stars, ocean, trees, everything, I gave it all up for you."

Initially thinking that I'll Give You the Sun was a love story, I was totally in.


I mean, who doesn't love a summer romance, right?


But in reality, Jandy Nelson's book gave me so much more than that - As a book written in two different perspectives of Jude and Noah who are girl and boy twins, this book is more about personal

growth then romance, where two distanced siblings manage to find their way back to each other in a world full of doubts and jealousy.


Yes, there is romance.


But the lessons about love, loss, and art mixed with the eccentric storytelling point of view of both the siblings Jude and Noah give way to a heartwarming realization that family bonds can always be mended.


2. Since You've Been Gone by Morgan Matson

This book is definitely a feel-good one, unlike some of the others listed below (sorry).


Although it wasn't my favorite book of all time, Since You've Been Gone by Morgan Matson is about two girls who are close friends, but their bond is strained when one disappears during what was supposed to be their greatest summer yet.


Left alone to complete their summer bucket list, Emily must overcome her shyness while pursuing wild journeys to parties, beaches, and more without her BFF.


However, this may not always be as bad a thing as Emily thought, especially when she meet a boy who is willing to help her along the way, and she is no longer in her friend Sloane's adventurous shadow...



"I don't think you have to do something so big to be brave. And it's the little things that are harder, anyway."

3. Looking for Alaska by John Green

In my opinion, I liked Looking for Alaska a lot better than John Green's more famous The Fault in Our Stars!


The mysterious persona of Alaska - a girl at Miles Halter's new boarding school - is entirely captivating, as she is someone who loves books, midnight, and going out against the rules (which immediately draws in the attention of the reader!).


Seeking somewhat of an adventure, Miles follows the rebellious Alaska into a world of summer nights with friends, and more drama than he's had in a lifetime.


Yet, on his great quest to "seek a great perhaps", Miles realizes that underneath every adventure, especially falling in love, is a tragedy, and may not be as great as it seems.

"I go to seek a great perhaps."

As a result, Looking for Alaska is definitely a book that is intense, drama filled, and a stand-a-lone.


Perfect for summer nights!


4. Breakfast Served Anytime by Sarah Combs


The main character named Gloria in this book definitely reminds me of myself with her love of ice cream, blue butterflies, scrap-booking, and curiosity which really made me enjoy the story.


Quirky (yet down-to-earth and relatable) Gloria is at first hesitant to go to "Geek Camp" this summer and leave her best friend behind. However, pushed by her dad to do something different for once in her life, Gloria finds herself thrown into a microenvironment of odd classes and activities held in her local Kentucky scholarship summer camp.


Through strange professors who teach her about ancient, hidden languages and roommates that become unexpected friends, 17 year old Gloria finds herself in a cellphone-free summer that is much more fantastic than she'd ever thought it would be.



“I had watched the sun blaze and in the blink of an eye slip away; the happiness I felt in that moment was a heartbeat from tipping to sadness at the knowledge that I couldn't hold it forever. My old familiar push-pull, my trademark yearning for and resisting joy.”

As a coming-of-age book about growth and adulthood, Sarah Combs creates a story that is calm, yet meaningful for people looking forward to their future during a summer of a lifetime.


5. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart


A beautiful and distinguished family.

A private island.

A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.

A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.

A revolution. An accident. A secret.

Lies upon lies.

True love.

The truth.


Hands down one of my favorite books of all time, and one that will stay with me throughout my entire life.


I still remember the day I finished this book in middle school, as I was sitting with my friends eating lunch when I started to cry out of nowhere.

"What fun we'd had, how beautiful we were."

When Cadence Sinclair, an American girl from an old wealthy family who owns an island, undergoes a horrific accident one summer, she can not seem to remember anything that happened, despite the large difference it has made in her life. Nothing seems normal anymore, and there is definitely something wrong about her current mental state, and the way that her family has been treating her. Yet, although the reader initially feels pity towards Cady and her family, clues are revealed as to what actually happened on that island one summer throughout the book in which E. Lockhart does an insane job at making what seems like a normal "fun in the sun" kind of vacation stay into something truly dark, poetic and unforgettable.

By typing this, I do not even want to continue the preview because I am at the risk of revealing spoilers, so I will leave my fangirling here on the basis of demanding that you MUST read this book!


It's really haunting, but SO SO GOOD!

Comments


bottom of page